Telecommunication and Network Engineering Research Group



Emeritus Staff

  • Prof. Richard Harris


  • Dr Nasim Ahmed (Optical CDMA, RoF)
  • Dr Suriza Ahmad Zabidi (Optical Channel modelling for VLC)
  • Assoc Prof. Yaw Wen Kuo (Visiting Researcher from Taiwan)
  • Dr. Jianxiong Wan (Visiting Researcher from China)
  • Dong-Ru Lee (visiting intern from Taiwan)

PhD Students

  • Shan Jaffry (5G Moving Cells)
  • Daniel Konings (Indoor Localization)
  • Kanwal Zaidi (Relaying Techniques)
  • Saad Aslam (Scheduling in D2D Communication)

MS Students

  • Ali Raza (Passive Positioning)
  • Kai Chen

Undergraduate Students contributing to Research Projects

  • Ali AdulHussain (SDN, Rural Connectivity)
  • Baden Parr (VLC based localization)
  • Caleb Waddell (Zigbee based active localization)
  • Ashish Pamula (Passive wireless localization and tracking)
  • Brian Mbuba (Disaster Management using 5G)
  • Tapiwanashe Wenge (VLC based positioning)

Research Students based in Partner Institutions

The following students are based in partner institutions and are co-supervised by the TNE faculty members.
  • Syed Ali Abbas Kazmi (PhD student at Sungkyunkwan University, South Korea)
  • Tariq Shah (PhD student at Sungkyunkwan University, South Korea)
  • Zhao Ern Low (Undergraduate student at Monash University, Malaysia)


  • Syed Muhammad Arif (former MS student enrolled in a partner Korean University)
  • Debraj Basu (now with the University of Dublin)
  • Mohammed Al-Kandari (Passive Localization)
  • Matthew Bridle (Handover latency)
  • Nathaniel Faulkner (Indoor Localization)
  • Hamid Sharifi (Visible Light Communication)

Massey Contact Centre Mon - Fri 8:30am to 5:00pm 0800 MASSEY (+64 6 350 5701) TXT 5222 Web chat Staff Alumni News Māori @ Massey